Roorkhee chairs part 2

Picking up where I left off last time, I cut the rounded parts of the legs on the bandsaw and sanded them smooth and I drilled the 5/8″ mortise holes. I also made the back supports. I didn’t get any photos of those steps but they are pretty straight forward. Later I used the veritas conical tenon cutter to refine the tenons I had roughed in on the lathe. It’s important to make sure your tenons are all the same length.

20140417-150758.jpg
It’s pretty straightforward. Just stop turning the cutter when the end of the tenon is right at the exit hole of the cutter. What’s a little harder is ensuring your reamed leg mortises are the same. I used blue painters tape on my reamer. The process for reaming the mortise holes is well documented around the web. But, in a nut shell you just put one of your stretchers in the hole and check for square, adjusting as necessary. With the tenons cut and mortises reamed I slapped the pieces together.

20140417-151327.jpg

20140417-151346.jpg
Now I could turn my attention towards the leather work. I got my rivets and leather tooling so I cut a scrap of leather and riveted it together. That was easy. I knew all along I was going to use a lacing system instead of buckles but after I set a few eyelets in my scrap leather I didn’t really care for the look. I had seen an image of a canvas roorkhee that used metal D loops and decided to use that method. I think it turned out looking great.

20140417-151821.jpg
There isn’t a lot to say about the leather work. With so few elements to the leather and little visual distraction, clean work is a must. A mis-cut edge or rivets out of line will be obvious. I used a white pencil on the back of my leather and some dividers to ensure straight lines and even spacing. I will say the strap cutter Tandy leather sells will greatly improve the look of your edges and in my opinion is worth the $30 they charge for it.

20140417-152356.jpg

20140417-152405.jpg
The arm straps and leg belts can’t be attached until the wood bits are finished. I’m going to use a BLO, shellac, black wax schedule for this chair.

20140417-152613.jpg
I’ve got one coat of oil on, once that cures I’ll spray some shellac and wax the chair.

Leave a Reply

