Wood like this makes me happy

Sometimes life just surprises you in the most unexpected ways. I was in the middle of moving out of our home when I discovered one of my neighbors has a lumber yard in town full of air dried slabs (how did I never know this???)

Most of the slabs have been drying for 6 years plus. Some 10 years. I saw walnut slabs clear as a bell 12 ft long, 14″ wide and 5″ thick! But this piece stood out to me. Destined to be a room dividing bar. 8ft long, 5″ thick, 16″ wide. Air dried for 6 years +.

20140326-115223.jpg

Leave a Reply

