Basque Style Table: The Base Part 1

With the lumber milled I set to work on the two end assemblies.
20140318-123252.jpg
First step is to lay out the through mortises then chop them. The legs of the end assemblies are splayed at 7° so I marked that angle on the legs and set a bevel gauge to 7° as well to use as a guide while chopping. I drilled out the first two mortises with a brace and bit but found it no faster than chopping, not to mention the results weren’t as clean.

20140318-123436.jpg
I attacked this one joint at a time so I chopped a mortise, cut a tenon.

20140318-124335.jpg

20140318-124447.jpg
When I had both legs mortised and tenoned I laid the lower stretcher across the legs and marked the intersection at the legs.

20140318-124714.jpg
More chopping and cutting and viola!

20140318-125621.jpg
One more time through that whole operation and both end assemblies were complete. I didn’t take any pictures but I draw bored the mortise and tenons so I wouldn’t need to clamp anything.

More soon…

Leave a Reply

