Panel saw handle

I’ve been slowly making a pair of 20″ panel saws for bench work. I picked up some plates from tgiag.com awhile back. One is punched 10ppi crosscut and the other is 7 ppi rip. I thought I’d make contrasting handles so I could see at a glance which is which. Months ago I finished a walnut handle and today I finally got around to making a curly maple handle.

20140211-130346.jpg
The handle is modeled after the Disston D7 panel saw handle. I roughed out the blank on the bandsaw. Using three gramercy rasps I roughly shaped the handle. I know there are a million ways to cut the plate kerf but I like to keep it simple and just use a tenon saw.

20140211-130554.jpg
If you take your time and follow your line well, I find it isn’t too hard to get good results.

20140211-130652.jpg

20140211-130700.jpg
There is still a lot more sanding and shaping to go…

Leave a Reply

