Mike Pekovitch Tea Box

I came across FWW art director Mike Pekovitch’s blog and immediately fell in love with his white oak tea box.

20140207-220513.jpg
I brought a small quarter sawn white oak board when I moved the shop with the intentions of using it to build this piece. With the stock flattened and cut to length and thicknessed to 3/8″, I marked out the dovetails and set to work.

20140207-220538.jpg
Since the tops and bottoms were quarter sawn and only around 4″ in width I choose to just glue the top and bottom on. We will see.

20140207-221521.jpg
I cut the curly maple pieces for the interior of the box to length and shot the miters on a shooting board.

20140207-221602.jpg

This is were the project stands. I need to soften the dovetails further and figure out this whole fuming thing.

Leave a Reply

